Arab Journalism Award

AJA Logo.jpg

The Arab Journalism Awards rewards talent, inspires excellence, and motivates creativity

Since its inception in 1999 on the directives of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed, UAE Vice President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai 136 Arab media personalities from all media specialties and from across the Arab countries have won this coveted industry recognition.

More than 500 senior journalists, writers, academics and specialists have also participated as judging committee members, and more than 35 eminent media persons from different intellectual backgrounds and professional experience have served on the board of directors for the awards.

Outstanding contributions in the following 12 categories will be honored at the Arab Journalism Awards: 2011 Investigative Reporting, Young Talent Journalism, Photo Journalism, Economic Journalism, Outstanding Cartoon Works, Specialized Journalism, Best Press Interviews Journalism, Best Columnist Award, and Media Personality of the Year.

Arab Journalism Award Winners

Winners of the Media Personality of the year Award

Ten Arab personalities have won the Media Personality of the Year Award since the launch of the Arab Journalism Awards in 1999 under the directive of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice president and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai. The award aims to contribute to the progress of the Arab media and encourage creativity in Arab journalism. It also aims to familiarize people with the outstanding work and achievements of media professionals. The Arab Journalism Awards are divided into 12 categories, including the Media Personality of the Year that is given to the most prominent Arab media persona who has left a clear mark in the Arab media landscape.

In the first edition of the Arab Journalism Awards in 2001, late Sami Ahmed Al Munayes from Kuwait received the Media Personality of the Year Award. The following year, it was given to late Kamel Mohammed Al Zoheiry, the Egyptian writer and former head of the Arab Journalists Union. In 2003, it was awarded to the late Taryam Omran from the UAE and the late Mahmoud Al Sharif from Jordan. In 2005, the award went to Ragaa Al Nakash from Egypt, and the following year to Salah Al Din Hafez from Egypt. In 2006, Othman Al Omeir from Saudi Arabia was the recipient of the award, while in 2007 the award went to Makram Mohammed Ahmed from Egypt, head of the Journalist Union and secretary general of the Arab Journalists Union. In 2009, the Media Personalities of the Year award was given to Talal Salman, the founder and chief editor of the Lebanese As-Safir newspaper. The award in the ninth edition was to Dr. Abdullah Omran Taryam, CEO of UAE-based Dar Al Khalij Publishing House.

Best Columnist Award

Since it was launched in 1999, the Arab Journalism Awards have honored a number of prominent columnists from different Arab newspapers in an effort to familiarize the people throughout the region with the achievements of those writers. The awards appreciate the journalists’ commitment to highlighting people’s issues and concerns through their outstanding body of work. The honors in the Journalistic Column category in the previous editions of the Awards included Abdullatif Al Duaij from the Kuwaiti Al Qaabs newspaper; Khairy Mansour from the Jordanian Addustour newspaper; Mohamed Musaed Al Saleh from the Kuwaiti Al Qabas newspaper; Samir Attallah from Lebanon – the writer in Asharq Al Awsat; Salama Ahmed Salama from the Egyptian Al Ahram newspaper; Jihad Al Khazen from Lebanon – the writer at Al Hayat newspaper, and Dr. Mohiey Al din Amimor from Sawt Al Ahrar Algerian newspaper.

136 winners

Since its launch in 1999, the Arab Journalism Awards have honored 136 journalists from throughout the Arab world in all its 10 editions.

Special Dedication

Under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, the Arab Journalism Awards and Dubai Press Club (DPC) annually award journalists who have sacrificed their lives while writing a new history for their nation and humanity at large. The posthumous award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated courage and commitment to the principles of journalism in their call of duty.